Review: Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides

Ok, so I’m going to attempt to review the books I read. I can tell you now, they won’t be very long reviews 🙂

image

On Monday night I finished reading Middlesex: a novel and although it took me longer than usual to finish, I enjoyed the book. This wasn’t something I would have chosen on my own so I am glad my book club decided to read it.

The story is about Calliope Stephanides, a child born with both male and female genitalia. Her parents are unaware of this and raise her as a girl. Thanks to the negligence of the family doctor, Callie and her parents don’t receive an official diagnosis until she is fourteen. By then she has already figured out she isn’t like most girls. She wonders why her body isn’t changing and developing like the other girls in her class and why she is attracted to a certain girl in her class. The story goes into the family history and eventually you learn how it was possible for this genetic mutation to happen.

Even though this was a work of fiction, it could have easily been based on a true story. I personally did not know much about this topic before I read the book so I did learn some things. Also, this was my first time reading anything by Jeffrey Eugenides and I plan on reading another title of his, The Marriage Plot.

2 thoughts on “Review: Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides

  1. Kristin February 4, 2015 / 6:29 pm

    I don’t know why, but I always just assumed Middlesex was the name of a town in England!

    Like

    • Erika February 4, 2015 / 7:56 pm

      Haha you’re not wrong. It was a county in southeast England. (I totally had to look it up because I remember seeing that name in my history book back in high school)

      Like

Leave a Reply

