BodyPump and Week 1 of PFD

Happy Friday!

Any exciting plans this weekend? Tomorrow morning I’m joining some friends to do a workout at the Culver City stairs. I have never been there before but any type of stairs workout will make my legs burn. After that I will be attending a birthday party for a two-year-old. I still need to get her gift. Apparently she is a tomboy which is not surprising since she has two older brothers. I would like to go to Pasadena tomorrow night but I’m not sure that will happen. I need to see if there any events going on. Sunday is my friend Nikki’s baby shower. Birthday party and baby shower, fun times ahead :-).


Have you taken a BodyPump class before? I love this class even though it kicks my ass each time I take it. The latest release, 92, is killer! If you haven’t had the opportunity to take a class before, I highly recommend it. It is a one hour, full body, strength training workout that uses barbells and if you prefer, dumbbells. Each song focuses on a different muscle group and by the end of the class you’ve completed an amazing workout. According to the instructor you end up doing over 800 reps in one class.

For the last few months I’ve been taking the class with my mom every Thursday at our local 24 Hour Fitness gym and last month a new release (new music and new choreography) came out. I think this particular release is the hardest yet, especially the squats track. It’s one of the few classes I enjoy. I know there is a common misconception that lifting weights will make you bulky but that is absolutely not true. If you had the chance to take a BodyPump class three times a week, you would be amazed at how fast your strength improved. My mom is proof, lol. During the different exercises, her bar has more weight than mine.

Anyway, now that I’m following this new fitness plan, I have to put BodyPump on the back-burner for now. The way Steve has my workouts set up, I can’t take the class, at least not on Thursdays. I could try to take a class on one of my rest days but I want to use those to focus on cardio.


I am finishing up week one of PFD and I think I’ve done pretty well, at least as far as the workouts go. The goal for the first couple weeks of this phase is more weight, less reps. Even though I am doing less reps, by the time I get to that last one my muscles are screaming. I’ve been struggling with my meal plan. I am not getting enough meals in and I know my snacking hasn’t been the greatest. I emailed Steve earlier in the week and he gave me some suggestions but basically said if I want these changes bad enough, I will stick to the meal plan and do what needs to be done. That is exactly what I needed to hear. Nobody can do this for me, it all comes down to the decisions I make.

I hope you have a great weekend 🙂

What are your plans this weekend?

Have you tried BodyPump? Did you like it?

Leave a Reply

