Review: Wild by Cheryl Strayed

wild-book-cover

When I first read the description of Wild, a story about a woman who decides to hike 1,1oo miles of the Pacific Coast Trail with very little experience, my initial thought was “Seriously? How can someone be so stupid?” I actually had that thought up until I was half-way through the book. However, as I continued to read, I began to admire Cheryl’s strength and courage. Sure she didn’t make the best choices when deciding what to pack and what size boots to get, but she didn’t quit. After reading, I understand the reason why she decided to make such a journey, I just feel she should have planned it a better. Browsing through a guidebook is one thing, but planning, speaking with people who have completed the trail, and truly preparing for a long strenuous journey like that is completely different. That being said, I did enjoy the book.

Her brutal honesty was refreshing. She didn’t try to sugar coat things, she was honest about herself, her actions, and her feelings. While on the trail she met many different people and I enjoyed reading about each one and how they impacted her trip. Whenever I finish a book I always wonder what happens to the characters afterwards.

A few questions that ran through my mind:

Did she ever get back in touch with her step-father, Eddie?

Did she keep in touch with her ex-husband, Paul? If so, for how long? Even though their relationship didn’t work out, it was obvious they both cared for each other.

How’s her relationship with her siblings?

Now that I’ve finished the book, I can go see the movie. I’ll probably have to wait until it comes out on DVD because I don’t think it’s playing at any of my local theaters.

If you’ve read Wild, what are your thoughts?

Have you seen the movie?

Leave a Reply

