Review: Red Mist by Patricia Cornwell

I can’t remember what year I started reading Patricia Cornwell’s Kay Scarpetta series but I do remember the first book was purchased from an airport bookstore, From Potter’s Field, #6 in the series. After I read that one, I was hooked so I went back and read books 1-5.

Over the weekend I finished #20 in the series, Red Mist. While it wasn’t rated as high as some of her other books, I enjoyed it. I try not to read comments when choosing books because I don’t want to be influenced by someone else’s opinion. Everyone has different tastes so even if one person hated a specific title, that doesn’t necessarily mean I’ll hate it too. I browse comments after I’ve finished the book.


IMG_0919

In order to find out what happened to her former deputy chief, Jack Fielding, Scarpetta heads to Georgia to visit an inmate at the Georgia Prison for Women. That visit ends up being the first piece to a puzzle Scarpetta didn’t even realize she was supposed to put together. Red Mist is definitely packed with its share of murder, lies, and deception, which is probably why I enjoyed it so much  (No judging! Lol). Sometimes the forensic details were a bit much but that made the scenes believable.

The next book in the series is Bone Bed, which I’ve already started.

Leave a Reply

