Review: Not My Father’s Son by Alan Cumming

not my father's son

Although I listened to the audiobook for 95% of the story, I checked out a hardcover copy from my library and discovered there were pictures. I only flipped through the hardcover to look at the pictures, just like a kid right?

Narrated by Alan Cumming, who I found to be just excellent, the memoir was actually two stories in one. One story discussed the abuse Alan and his brother Tom went through during their childhood as well as how it impacted their lives as adults, and the other story was about the discovery of what happened to their maternal grandfather, Tommy Darling.

When I first started the audiobook, I was worried the tone of the story was going to be sad the whole way through but thankfully, it was not like that at all. Some of the subject matter was tough but Alan still threw in a good amount of humor. One of my favorite parts in the story was when he talked about an overzealous woman who tried to get his autograph after a funeral. A funeral of all places! He gave her a look that said “Back off, bitch.” The way he said it was hilarious and I had to rewind it just so I could hear it again.

I’ve always had a fascination with accents and Alan’s Scottish accent made the story even more enjoyable. This memoir counts towards my reading challenge even though I’m pretty sure I’m not on track for that anymore. *Shoulder shrug* Doesn’t bother me at all :-D.

Leave a Reply

