Happy Hump Day

Hello!

I can’t believe it’s already Wednesday! Just two more days until the weekend.

Last weekend I was pretty active. On Friday I hiked the Claremont Wilderness Trail (a 5 mile loop that kicks my ass each time I do it), ran the Santa Anita 5k, and took a spin class at Pedal Spin. My 5k time wasn’t the greatest but I am going to blame it on the fact that I stopped to take pictures of the peacocks that were roaming around the Arboretum:

SantaAnita2015 SantaAnita2015_2

Peacocks are beautiful! I just wish the sounds they made didn’t sound so annoying.

It’s the last week of my 28 Day Jumpstart and so far I’m proud of my results. I took my measurements yesterday and so far I’m down 1.6 lbs and 5 inches. I’ll do my final measurements next Monday and report the results. I’ll be starting another round of the same program on 4/20/15. If you want to join in, just checkout Fit Girl’s Guide.

I can’t remember if I mentioned it before but I’ve decided to completely start over with running. I’ve never been very consistent and even though I do races all the time, I’ve never trained properly for a race. The only race I trained for was my first race, the 2008 LA Marathon (yes, I did things backwards), and that was as a walker, not a runner. The only reason I trained for that one was because I signed up with Team in Training, which helped raise money for The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. I’m actually excited to do this because I’ve always wanted to run more than walk in a race. I have a love/hate relationship with running so I’m hoping this idea will help our relationship. 🙂

As of today I’m not signed up for any races but I do plan on signing up for the Carlsbad 1/2 Marathon which is next January and I for sure want to do the LA Rock ‘n Roll 1/2 Marathon again in October. I may end up doing the Las Vegas Rock ‘n Roll 1/2 Marathon in November because several of my friends want to do it as a group. The only reason I’m a bit hesitant is because the race is in the evening and that makes me nervous since I’ve never done a night-time race. Even if I don’t end up doing that race, it’s the weekend before my birthday so just Vegas to celebrate will be fun.


As far a reading goes, I’m having a very hard time getting through We Have Always Lived in The Castle. I don’t know what it is but I just can’t stick with it for more than a few pages. Sadly I have this habit that I can’t leave a book unfinished, no matter how much I don’t like it. So far I’ve renewed this book 5 times! It’s due this Saturday so I’m going to try my best to finish it. Couple chapters per day and I will be done.

On a brighter note, I am loving the Don Quixote audiobook! I’ve laughed out loud a few times and I’m only on chapter 8. Fun times.

Back to work for me…

Enjoy the rest of your day!

 

What are you reading right now?

Do you have any races coming up?

Leave a Reply

