Review: We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson

coverart

I’m not even going to lie, I didn’t like this book. It was supposed to be something I could read in a day or two and it took me several weeks to get through it. It was only 146 pages!

The story is weird. Constance lives with her sister Mary and their uncle Julian, who has health issues. The whole town hates them, and they’re pretty much secluded from society. Several years ago, Constance was accused of murdering her family, which included her mother and father and Julian’s wife. From what I gathered from the story, that is the reason the town hates them.

Constance doesn’t leave the house and Mary, also known as Merricat, leaves once a week to buy groceries. Mary definitely has some issues. She spends her time hiding money around the property and talking to her cat, Jonas.

One day their cousin Charles shows up and Mary immediately doesn’t trust him. From there, the story continues in its weirdness.

I honestly think I’d need to read this book again, with no interruptions to fully understand the story. When I chose to read this for my reading challenge, this was supposed to go in the category, A Book You Can Finish in a Day. No idea where I’ll put it now.

The only reason I actually finished this book is because I have an issue with NOT finishing a book. I just can’t leave books unfinished, lol. Anyway, I’m glad I’m done with this one so I can focus on some other titles.

Leave a Reply

