Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

maas

I really enjoyed this book! My book club chose this for the month of May and I’m glad they did. I’m not sure if I would have discovered this title this on my own. When I read the description I was a little skeptical on whether it would hold my attention since I haven’t read much fantasy other than the Game of Throne series.

This story had a Beauty and the Beast feel to it but it definitely wasn’t a Disney story. What kept me interested in the story wasn’t just the love story but the way the author developed the characters. I know fairies don’t exist but it was interesting how she described the fairies, their abilities, and their backgrounds. Feyre, the main character, grew up hating fairies because of how they’d treated the human race in the past and that is one of the major themes in the story.

Normally I don’t find out about a series until after all the books have been released but sadly this book was just released on May 5, 2015 and I have no idea when the next book will be out. I’ll just wait and probably forget half of what happened, but that’s ok :-). I definitely recommend this book, especially if you like Fantasy or New Adult.

Leave a Reply

