Review: Dark Places: a Novel by Gillian Flynn

dark-places-book-cover

First off, did you know her name isn’t pronounced like Jillian? It’s Gil-lian, (Gil, like a fish gill). I learned the correct pronunciation of her name thanks to one of Book Riot’s YouTube videos.

I must say I liked this book more than Gone Girl, mostly because the ending of Gone Girl pissed me off. Anyway, for this one I listened to the audiobook for probably 85% of the story and it was pretty entertaining. Each main character, Libby Day, Patty Day, and Ben Day, had a narrator. The narrator for Libby’s part was Rebecca Lowman, the same woman who did Eleanor’s part on Eleanor and Park, which I loved 🙂

Libby Day is the lone survivor of the 1985 “Satan Sacrifice of Kinnakee, Kansas.” Her mother, Patty Day, and her two sisters, Michelle and Debby Day were murdered in their farm house on January 3, 1985. Her brother, 15-year-old Ben Day, was convicted of the crime. Libby’s testimony helped seal his fate. Fast forward to present day, a secret organization called the Kill Club is willing to pay Libby to talk to people about what happened that night. They do not believe Ben actually committed the murders.

Libby is not a likable character. She’s lazy and selfish and she readily admits that. I probably disliked her more because of the audiobook since Rebecca did a great job at making her sound like a total brat. What I liked most about this story is I had no idea how it was going to end until pretty much the last couple chapters. Usually I can figure out who the guilty person is in a crime novel but this time I just wasn’t sure.

While I was searching for an image for this post, I saw that Dark Places is going to be a movie! Tentative release date is August 2015 and I am definitely going to see it.

If you like creepy crime dramas, this is right up your alley. I’ve already started another one of her books, Sharp Objects.

2 thoughts on “Review: Dark Places: a Novel by Gillian Flynn

  1. Kristin June 4, 2015 / 8:55 pm

    It’s been so long since I read it, but now I totally remember how VERY unlikable Libby was! I have a hard time with characters like that, like with The Girl on the Train. Stop messing up your life!!
    I think you’ll like Sharp Objects. Another great book in the collection of “so messed up.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Erika June 4, 2015 / 9:05 pm

      Yes! Rachel was a hot mess!

      Like

Leave a Reply

