Review: Thankless in Death by J.D. Robb

thankless

Ahh, Eve Dallas is back. This isn’t the most recent book in the series but I’m going to review it anyway since I barely read it last week. Eve Dallas is one of my favorite characters, mainly because she is kick-ass and doesn’t take crap from anyone. I listened to the audiobook for most of the story and while I enjoyed most of it, I didn’t like the voice used for Dallas’ partner, Delia Peabody. But hey, that was just a minor annoyance.

This story was a little different compared to the other stories in the series since the killer was identified right away. Jerry Reinhold begins his crime spree by brutally murdering his parents. To add insult to injury, after murdering them, he drains their bank accounts. For obvious reasons, I couldn’t stand his character.

Even though Dallas knew who the killer was, most of the story was spent trying to find him before he killed someone else. And yes, I will tell you, he did end up killing more people. Like the rest the books in the In Death series, you know Dallas is going to catch the bad guy. That being said, it’s still entertaining to see how she does it. She can’t be outsmarted.

This is number 37 in the series so I need to read 38-40 to be caught up. Book 41 is expected to be released in September .

Leave a Reply

