Whole30 recap, IIFYM, and October Goals

hello-october

Hello there!

It’s crazy how it’s already October! The last few months of the months of the year are always busy for me with birthdays, holidays, and holiday parties. In years past I’ve been pretty lenient with myself when it came to food. I always used the excuse, “It’s the holidays” and pretty much ate whatever I wanted. That will not be happening this year. I can’t begin to tell you how the round of Whole30 has changed how I look at food. It’s pretty amazing since I never thought I’d be able to get past my sugar addiction.

Whole30 Recap

When I first heard about Whole30, sometime last year, I immediately dismissed it because I didn’t want to have to give up certain foods, especially my beloved pasta and cheese.  Eventually I decided to just do it after reading numerous success stories. The program isn’t solely about weight loss. That is definitely an added benefit but the main focus is to eventually see how certain foods affect your body, both mentally and physically.

The first couple days of the program were tough since I normally would have bread either during breakfast or lunch. I had a bad headache after the first day. Surprisingly enough, as the days went by, thing really weren’t as difficult as I thought they would be. I refused to slip because if I did, I would have to start over. I ended up joining a Whole30 Facebook group and although I mostly just lurked, I did pick up some good tips.

I was able to pass up cake in the break room (multiple times), a birthday snack day, and a birthday lunch to Applebee’s. I could have gone and ordered something light but I didn’t want to put myself in a situation where I might order something that wasn’t compliant, especially since I don’t know what Applebee’s cooks their food in. That was definitely a Non-Scale Victory for me.

My most difficult week was the last week, go figure. I think because I knew I was almost finished, the cravings for bread were that much stronger. Seriously, I hadn’t had any major cravings the first three weeks and then the last week rolls around and all I could think about was a bagel from Starbucks, lol. On Day 30, I met up with a friend for lunch at a local restaurant. I ended up ordering a breakfast but I thought it would just be eggs and some bacon, but no, there was more than that. I misread the meal and it actually came with two pancakes. There’s no way I was going to slip-up on the last day so I asked the waitress if she could pack away the pancakes in a to-go container and she did. I planned on re-introducing gluten first so I was just going to eat the pancakes the following day.

Wellll, after dreaming about those pancakes, when I finally did get a chance to eat them, I was super disappointed. They did not taste good at all. Now, it could have been the fact that they were a day old and just didn’t re-heat well but either way, I didn’t even finish them. I’ve found that many of the foods (especially fast foods) I enjoyed before Whole30 no longer taste the same. Real food just tastes better.

I’m still in the re-introduction phase and but right now I don’t feel as though I have to eat bread all the time. It won’t be a regular part of my meals. I had some peanut butter last night and that didn’t really affect me which is nice since I like peanut butter. Beans still need to be re-introduced and I really hope those don’t affect me because I love getting black beans in my Chipotle burrito bowls.

If It Fits Your Macros (IIFYM)

Ahh, macros. I tried this once before but I did a half-assed job so it didn’t really work out in my favor. I’ve decided to try this out for at least a month or two. The notion is that you can eat whatever you want as long as you stay within your number. I got my numbers for my protein, carbs, and fat using the calculator on iifym.com and I downloaded the app Macros+ so I can keep track. Normally I’d just use My Fitness Pal but now they want to charge for per month for that type of service and I don’t want to pay that. Even though you can technically eat what you want, I don’t plan on going crazy. I really want to stick close to how I was eating when I did Whole30. I’m looking into getting some Paleo cookbooks since Paleo is pretty similar to Whole30. I currently follow Julie at PaleoOMG and I can’t want to get her cookbook. The other Paleo cookbook I have is Practical Paleo by Diane Sanfilippo.

October Goals

Here are my goals for the month:

*Do not gain back the weight lost during Whole30

*Make a couple extra payments towards credit card and student loans

*Finish Pretty Baby, Drums of Autumn, and Lair of Dreams (I’m really lagging)

*Light my fall scented candles every night

*Finish C25K — I haven’t been as consistent and should be on week 7 but may need to repeat weeks 5 and 6 again. Maybe.

*Clean off my desk and try to keep it clean.

*Gym/workout at least 3x/wk

*Limit Starbucks to 1x/wk

That’s about it for now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

