Review: Pretty Baby by Mary Kubica

final-for-PB-page

I finished this book during my lunch break yesterday and while I didn’t hate it, I didn’t love it either. The book was good but it didn’t move at a fast enough pace for me. It wasn’t one of those books that I just couldn’t put down.

The book is about a woman, Heidi Wood, who takes in a homeless girl and her baby after seeing them standing in the rain at a train station in Chicago. She does this without consulting her husband and daughter. Not knowing anything about this girl, her husband is immediately suspicious. The story is told from the perspectives of Heidi, Heidi’s husband, Chris, and the girl, Willow. They don’t know her background, where she came from, or why she has bruises on her face and blood on her clothes.

I think I was disappointed in this book because I was expecting more suspense and it just didn’t have it. I also felt as though some parts of the story were not resolved. My friend Elizabeth suggested I read Mary Kubica’s first book The Good Girl so hopefully that one will provide more suspense.

Leave a Reply

