Happy Monday

Hi!

Another weekend has come and gone. As we get closer towards the end of the year, it feels as though time is going by twice as fast. I’m looking forward to Thanksgiving (delicious food + days off from work = heaven) and Christmas. I’m going to visit my brother and his family in Georgia again this Christmas and I can’t wait. 

Anyway, the here are the latest happenings…

Eating 

  

I’m slowly going back to my bad habits and I seriously need to knock it off. I do pay more attention to labels but I haven’t been meal prepping like I should be and I know that is affecting my health. I’m still counting macros and even though I’ve been doing an OK job of staying within those numbers, I’ve been eating too much fast food. I’d rather fill the majority of my macros with whole foods and home cooked meals versus food from the dollar menu at Del Taco. This all comes down to making time and preparing ahead which I haven’t been doing. 

I ordered this meal planning notepad because I want to calculate the macros for my meals ahead of time. I’m hoping that seeing my meals written out each day will help me stick to that meal plan for the day. I’m going to my current numbers for the next few week but if I don’t see any changes, I may have one of the coaches in my IIFYM Facebook group calculate my numbers for me.  Even though I’m struggling with this I am grateful for the support of my sister-in-law. She checks in with me on a daily basis and I appreciate that. 

Workouts 

Since I am following IIFYM, it’s important that I lift weights regularly. I’m currently doing the Stronglifts 5×5 program 3x a week. I like this program because I’m able to get in good workouts without having to go to the gym 5 days a week. With my schedule that is just not possible. I also like that it has an app. Once I finish up an exercise, I check it off and move on to the next set. 

From my workout on 10/11/15

 
I will stick with this program for the next month or so but eventually I plan on switching over to Michael Matthews’ One Year Challenge. I’m currently reading his book Thinner, Leaner, Stronger which helps explain the science behind the IIFYM method. I love the fact that a new year will be here soon. New year, new goals!

Journaling 

  
Someone I follow on Periscope recently talked about setting up a 5-year journal and I’m super excited to follow her example. How it works is you answer 1 question everyday for a year and then the following years you go back an answer the same questions. You will be able to compare responses for the different years and see how things have changed, for better or worse. Originally I was going to just use the questions I found on this blog but then I found another journal with different questions so I’m going to do both! I bought the  Q&A a Day on Amazon and I’m going to use a Plum Paper Family Planner for the other journal. The questions are simple enough so I should have no problem answering them everyday. January 1, 2016 will be my start date. 

Sports 

I’m pretty bummed the Dodgers couldn’t even make it past the first round of playoffs. They had an amazing season and then choked. That being said, I hope the Cubs take it all since they haven’t won anything in years and because my family is from Chicago. 

My 49ers are realllly struggling and it’s been tough to watch. They won yesterday so that’s promising, sort of, lol. Either way, I’ll always be a fan even during tough times. 

What I’m reading 

I recently finished book 4 in the Outlander series, Drums of Autumn and of course I loved it. If I didn’t have the audiobooks I don’t know if I’d enjoy the series as much. Davina Porter is freakin’ awesome. She has a different voice for each character and I just love it. I haven’t started book 5 yet but I will soon. 

Currently reading: 

Blood Magick by Nora Roberts — 3rd book in the Cousins O’Dwyer Trilogy 

Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray — I should have had this finished a while ago but I got sucked into Voyage and then Drums of Autumn

Thinner, Leaner, Stronger by Michael Matthews

That’s all I have for now. Enjoy the day!

2 thoughts on “Happy Monday

  1. Justin Meckes October 19, 2015 / 6:04 pm

    I’m glad I’m not the only one that takes books and barbells seriously.

    Like

  2. Tifness October 19, 2015 / 7:29 pm

    awesome job on your workouts, you’re doing great! 🙂 im a fitness blogger on here too! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

