Review: The Martian by Andy Weir

Due to a freak dust storm accident, Mark Watney is left on Mars with no way to get home. The way he survived the accident is pretty much miracle and once NASA discovers he did in fact survive, the story is about Mark trying to find a way back home. With space travel, things take much longer than your average plane trip so even if Mark does find a way to save himself, it will take a very, very long time to get back to Earth.

The story switches off between Mark and his journal entries and those at NASA. I liked the fact that it wasn’t all just Mark and his journal entries because a full book with not much dialogue would have been extremely boring. Annie, the director of media relations for NASA was one of my favorite characters. She had the mouth of a sailor and I loved it.

I’m not one for space-type novels but I did enjoy this book. There was a good amount of humor mixed in which helped balance out some the boring space talk. That being said, I was very impressed with Andy Weir’s knowledge of Mars and all things space-related. But, I shouldn’t be surprised since he has made it known he is a lifelong space nerd.

Now that I’ve finished this book I can go see the movie!

Leave a Reply

