Carlsbad Half Marathon 

  

Hello!

Over the weekend I completed the Carlsbad half marathon and it was my worst race performance ever. My body wasn’t properly fueled and I was drained by mile 3. There were quite a few hills! Because of my lack of energy, I had to walk the rest of the race. I was so disappointed in myself because I didn’t prepare well. I’m placing part of the blame on the fact that I was doing whole30 and couldn’t carbload with pasta like I normally do before a race. I know people have done races while on Whole30 but it just didn’t work for me. I also didn’t eat enough in the days leading up to the race. 

My Whole30 technically ended on Sunday because I ended up eating many non-compliant foods after the race. I was so hungry! I’m not too upset. Even though it’s technically over, I’m still going to finish up until 2/4/16. I know I’m supposed to start over but I’m not going to. My whole reason for doing another round was to get back on track with eating better foods after all of the holiday shenanigans. 

Even though the course kicked my ass, the views along the beach were beautiful! Check this out:

   

  

I’m doing this race again next year. I have to. I need to redeem myself! 😀 Also, when I do this race again next year I may try and do the Triple Crown Series, which consists of the Carlsbad Half Marathon, the La Jolla Half Marathon in April, and America’s Finest City Half Marathon in August. It’s a long ways away but I’m a planner. 

Aside from my sucky race performance, I had a wonderful time in Carlsbad. I was able to fully relax after the race on Sunday since I didn’t have to check out of my hotel until Monday afternoon. It was great. 

I have some virtual races coming up:

2/6/16

 
First Hogwarts Running Club race of the year! 


2/21/16 

 

This is a memorial run for Alan Rickman, also known as Snape, from the Harry Potter movies. He was an avid supporter of libraries and reading and will be truly missed! While there isn’t a medal for this race, the Hogwarts Running Club has set up a t-shirt fundraiser that will benefit Alan Rickman’s beloved charity, Debate Mate

Sometime in February

Piece by Piece

  
Proceeds from this race will go towards Autism Speaks. I’ll either do the 5k or 10k. I believe my sister-in-law is going to do this one too. She’s actually the one who told me about it. 

I’ll do another post later about what I’m reading, what I want to read next, and what movies I can’t wait to see. Have a good one!

3 thoughts on “Carlsbad Half Marathon 

  1. sunnieko21 January 19, 2016 / 4:53 pm

    Sometimes runs just don’t go the way we want! Love this post and the honesty. Go get em next year!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beach Body Bliss January 19, 2016 / 6:33 pm

    Don’t feel too bad, you still finished! Good for you, and that triple half plan you have is awesome! Hope that goes well, I bet they are all amazing. That whole area down there is so beautiful and amazing)

    Like

    • Erika January 19, 2016 / 6:35 pm

      I wouldn’t mind living down there 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

