Review: Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

Another book club selection. While I’ve had this book sitting on my Kindle for quite some time, I wasn’t pushed to read it until I found out it was the book choice for February.

This book was so good! I’m kicking myself for waiting so long to read it! I did the audiobook/ebook combo again and I just loooved the narrator’s Australian accent. She did an excellent job.

Anyway, the story is told from the points of view of Madeline, Celeste, and Jane, three moms who live in Pirriwee Peninsula in Australia and whose kids attend Pirriwee Public School. There is commentary from other characters mixed in but the bulk of the story is told by those three. The whole story leads up to finding out who committed a murder on School Trivia Night.

There’s all types of drama in the book: cliquish parents, infidelity, bullying, domestic violence, family drama, and more. Unless you’re a mind reader, you’ll be surprised at the ending. I sure as hell was. I think that’s why I liked this story so much, I wasn’t able to guess what would happen and there were enough twists to keep me entertained. 

This is the second title I’ve read by Liane Moriarty and I will definitely read more of her work. 

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

  1. Kristin February 25, 2016 / 6:35 pm

    I liked The Husband’s Secret, but I wasn’t sure about this one (Why do I read book jackets? When I do, I never want to read the book). Reading your review, I’ll definitely add it to my to-read.

    Like

    • Erika February 25, 2016 / 6:52 pm

      Yeah I think that’s why it had been on my Kindle so long, I wasn’t sure about it, lol. I think I bought it when it was on sale or something, which I tend to do way too much. Anyway, I hope you like it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

