Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

  
I don’t know what it is about Rainbow Rowell’s books but the three I have read so far, I absolutely loved them. I don’t know if it’s the love (or potential love) aspect or all the snarkiness but I just love the stories.

I remember when I first came across Fangirl, it didn’t seem like a title I would be interested in. Honestly I can’t even remember what changed my mind but I am very glad I added it to my TBR list. 

Anyway, the story is about Cath, a Simon Snow fanfiction writer, and her experiences during her first year of college. She has a twin sister Wren who attends the same school but decided against sharing a room with her sister. Her reasoning was that they’d shared a room for 18 years and it was time to have new experiences. 

Cath isn’t as outgoing as her sister so she isn’t sure she is going to like college. All she wants to do is work on her latest fanfiction project, Carry On, which will coincide with the release of the last Simon Snow novel. She isn’t sure about her roommate, who is kind of intimidating. She’s also worried about her father since now that she and Wren are gone, he is alone. 

There were characters I loved and some I didn’t. I really enjoy books that leave me wondering at the end. Wondering what happened to the characters after story ended. Did things change for them? Did they live happily ever after? 

I think my only problem with this story is it left a few things unresolved. At least they felt unresolved to me. Rainbow has already said she isn’t going to write a sequel for Fangirl so I’ll just have to be left wondering about certain things 🙂

Leave a Reply

