It’s working!

tiger_keto

I know it’s still early but oh my goodness, Keto is working! I started on Monday August 8th and I’m very proud that I have not cheated one time. For one thing, cheating would only hurt me since it would through my body out of ketosis and I’d have to start over. My co-worker at the library gave me a bunch of books on the low carb lifestyle, including some cookbooks. It will take while for me to get through them since there are so many but I’m grateful to her for letting me borrow them.

Giving up the sugary snacks wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be since I’m still able to make sugar-free treats when I feel the need. I have some favorites right now but there are many more out there I haven’t tried yet. I haven’t had the pasta craving yet but when that comes, I have a couple of recipes in mind. Since I can still have my beloved cream sauce, I’m going to make some type of Alfredo dish.

It’s amazing how many Keto resources are out there. I was never interested in Reddit before but once I found the Keto subreddit, I was hooked. If I ever have a question about something, it’s almost guaranteed someone else has had the same questions. The search feature on there has helped me out tremendously. When it comes to public message boards and Facebook groups, I’m always hesitant to post because I don’t want to come off sounding stupid or dumb. It’s silly but whatever.

I’ve still been working out but haven’t been running as much. I don’t think my body is fully fat adapted yet but hopefully it will be soon. Lately I’ve been doing a lot of cycling and elliptical at the gym. I have a race in November so I really need to get on a training schedule. The one thing I have noticed as far as changes in my body is the cramping. Yesterday I took a spin class at my gym and during the stretch-session after I was over, I could feel a cramp start in my legs. Increasing my sodium will hopefully help with this issue. Egg drop soup is a quick and easy way to get that in!

Anyway, I’ll report back in two weeks on my progress. I haven’t been this excited about weight loss since I lost weight many years ago doing Weight Watchers.

Leave a Reply

