Review: The Obsession by Nora Roberts

IMG_6939

I haven’t read too many of Nora Roberts’ standalone books but I must say I think I prefer them over the trilogies she writes. Her latest one, The Obsession, was so good! I couldn’t put it down and when I did have to put it down, I couldn’t wait to pick it back up again. It was a mixture of suspense, drama, romance, and humor and I enjoyed every bit of it. An added plus was the dog character. Books are even more enjoyable to when they have pets in the story. As long as the dog doesn’t die, of course.

Naomi Bowes’ childhood was interrupted when she discovered a woman her father had kidnapped, locked in a cellar on their property. While that was the beginning of the end for him, it was also an event that never left her while growing up (obviously). Reminders, new stories, book deals, there was always something that connected her to her father’s crimes.

The first half of the book details what happens after she finds the young woman and how life changes for her, her brother Mason, and their mother. I found the second half of the story moved at a quicker pace. She’s an adult now and settling down in a new city with new people. Of course the love interest is there too and that relationship alone was pretty electric.

Now that I’ve read a few of her standalone books, I may just try to read them all. Don’t get me wrong, the trilogies I have read were good, but sometimes I don’t want to commit to reading all of the books. It’s hard for me to start a series and not finish it. This morning I added a bunch of her other novels to my TBR list and I’ll probably add more when I get off work today.

Happy Saturday!

 

Leave a Reply

