Review: The Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney


It’s been a bit since I did any type of review, even though I’ve been reading like crazy. 

I recently finished The Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney and while it was supposed to be  funny and heartwarming, I didn’t feel it was either one of those. Maybe I read too much drama and suspense but the story itself was not very entertaining.

The story revolves around the Plumb siblings and their expected inheritance, The Nest. When Leo Plumb, the oldest, gets into a major trouble, his mother has to dip into The Nest.  That is the beginning of numerous problems for the rest of the siblings since they’d all pretty much spent the money before receiving it. 

One sibling secretly took out lines of credit on a property owned by him and his partner while another planned on using the money to send her daughters to prestigious universities. While Leo promised to pay back the money owed, this just caused more stress between the family members. 

There are four siblings and the majority of the story is told from their points of view. I think one of the reasons I wasn’t really satisfied with this book is I felt like there were questions left unanswered. 

It was a fairly short read, less than 400 pages. My rating for the book on Goodreads was 3 stars. If half stars were available I probably would have given it 3.5

Leave a Reply

