My Book Jar and Review of Pound for Pound: A Story of One Woman’s Recovery and the Shelter Dogs Who Loved Her Back to Life by Shannon Kopp

I am terrible about reading ARCs (Advanced Reader Copies) in a timely manner. I usually get them at library conferences and have accumulated way too many over the last few years. This year I decided to make a book jar. I wrote down all of the ARC titles plus all of my unread Kindle books on small pieces of paper and put them all in a jar. I made the jar because I wanted to just pull titles randomly. I normally read more than one book at a time and this year I’m making sure to make a dent in the unread books I actually own.


First title I chose was Pound for Pound: A Story of One Woman’s Recovery and the Shelter Dogs Who Loved Her Back to Life, by Shannon Kopp. I remember originally picking up this book at a library conference in either 2014 or 2015 because of the animal connection. I am a huge dog person but usually avoid books about animals since I usually start crying when an animal character dies. Sounds silly but that’s just me.


Anyway, once I started the book I was hooked. Shannon talked about how her struggle with Bulimia started and how it affected her life both personally and professionally. What really touched me were the stories she told about specific dogs who helped her see what she was doing to herself. I’ve never battled an eating disorder but I can’t imagine how difficult it was for her to recover. Even though I did have some crying moments, I really enjoyed this book.  

Leave a Reply

